SIMON MAYER (AT)

Sons of Sissy

 
In an experimental manner, four performers and musicians make use of traditional alpine live music, various group dances and ritualised practices. Liberating them from conservativism and conventions, they establish an unseen fusion of artistic reinterpretations and temporary social attributions of meaning. Defying categorisation and pigeonholing, the Sons of Sissy do everything they can to live up to their name as they conduct themselves as part weird folk-music quartet, part experimentally playful ritual dance combo, using humour to radically disrupt the hackneyed male role models in old traditions.
 

 

 

-
 
 
IDEA / CHOREOGRAPHY / PERFORMANCE / MUSIC: Simon Mayer
PERFORMANCE / MUSIC: Matteo Haitzmann, Patric Redl, Manuel Wagner
SPECIAL INSTRUMENTS: Hans Tschiritsch
STAGE / COSTUME DESIGN: Andrea Simeon
LIGHT: Martin Walitza, Hannes Ruschbaschan
ARTISTIC CONSULTANT: Frans Poelstra
PRODUCTION: Sophie Schmeiser, Elisabeth Hirner
CO-PRODUCTION: Kopf hoch, brut Wien, Gessnerallee Zurich, zeitraumexit Mannheim and Tanz ist Dornbirn.
TOURING PRODUCTION: Sophie Schmeiser and Hiros
 
With the support of: MA 7 – Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, the Arts Division and the Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria, Kulturland Oberösterreich, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brussels), WP Zimmer (Antwerp), im_flieger, Kunst- und Kulturverein SPIEL.
 
SIMON MAYER studied at the Vienna State Opera Ballet School and P.A.R.T.S in Brussels, and was member of the Vienna State Opera Ballet. In 2009, he founded the band Rising halfmoon as singer, guitarist and songwriter. As dancer/choreographer and musician he was involved in productions of Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker/ROSAS (The Song), Wim Vandekeybus (Frisking) and Zita Swoon. In 2014 Simon released his latest music album Monkeymind. His choreographic repertoire includes solos, duets and group pieces that have been performed internationally (O feather of lead; Dancing with the Sound Hobbyist (Zita Swoon); Monkeymind; SunBengSitting and Sons of Sissy). Simon was Artist in Residence at Theatre de L’L in Brussels and is the artistic director of the festival SPIEL, which he started together with his brothers and the association spiel. Simon is teaching contemporary dance, community dance, traditional dance and voice techniques (Impulstanz Wien, Steirischer Herbst and other international festivals, and as guest teacher at the Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversität).
(c) Rania Moslam(c) Rania Moslam
 
 
In the context of FEEDBACK 4th edition
24. APRIL - 27. APRIL
____________________
 
TICKETS

Regular price 16 EURO
Reductions here
 
DAILY BOX OFFICE
Opening hours
____________________

SIMON MAYER (AT)

Sons of Sissy

 
Auf experimentelle Weise bedienen sich die vier Performer und Musiker traditioneller alpiner Livemusik, diverser Gruppentänze und ritualistischer Praktiken. Sie befreien diese von Konservativismus und Konventionen und etablieren eine neuartige Fusion aus künstlerischen Neuinterpretationen und temporären sozialen Bedeutungszuschreibungen. Jenseits von Kategorisierungen und Schubladendenken machen die Sons of Sissy ihrem Namen alle Ehre: Sie gebärden sich mal als schräges Volksmusikquartett, mal als experimentell verspielte Ritualtanzcombo und brechen radikal und humorvoll traditionelle männliche Rollenbilder im Brauchtum auf.
 
 
-
 
 
IDEE / CHOREOGRAFIE / PERFORMANCE / MUSIK: Simon Mayer
PERFORMANCE / MUSIK: Matteo Haitzmann, Patric Redl, Manuel Wagner
KLANGKÖRPER / SPEZIALINSTRUMENTE: Hans Tschiritsch
BÜHNE / KOSTÜM: Andrea Simeon
LICHT: Martin Walitza, Hannes Ruschbaschan
KÜNSTLERISCHE BERATUNG: Frans Poelstra
PRODUKTION: Sophie Schmeiser, Elisabeth Hirner
KO-PRODUKTION: Kopf hoch, brut Wien, Gessnerallee Zurich, zeitraumexit Mannheim und Tanz ist Dornbirn.
TOURING: Sophie Schmeiser und Hiros
 
Mit der Unterstützung von MA 7 – Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, Bundeskanzleramt Österreich Kunst und Kultur, Kulturland Oberösterreich, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brüssel), WP Zimmer (Antwerpen), im_flieger, Kunst und Kulturverein SPIEL.
 
 
SIMON MAYER, Performer/Tänzer, Choreograf und Musiker, geboren 1984 in Österreich, studierte an der Wiener Staatsopernballettschule, den Performing Arts, Research and Training Studios (PARTS) in Brüssel und war Mitglied des Wiener Staatsopernballetts. 2009 gründete Simon als Sänger, Gitarrist und Songwriter seine Band Rising halfmoon. 2014 erschien sein letztes Album Monkeymind. Als Tänzer/Choreograf und Musiker war er unter anderen in Produktionen von Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker/ROSAS (The Song), Wim Vandekeybus (Frisking) und Zita Swoon zu sehen. Sein choreografisches Repertoire beinhaltet Solos, Duos und Gruppenstücken die international aufgeführt werden (O feather of lead, Dancing with the soundhobbyist/zita swoon, Kopf hoch, Monkeymind, SunBengSitting, Sons of Sissy, etc.). Simon war Artist in Residence bei Theatre de LL in Brüssel und ist künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals SPIEL, welches er zusammen mit seinen Brüdern und dem Verein spiel ins Leben gerufen hat. Außerdem unterrichtet er Contemporary, Community Dance und traditionellen Tanz (Impulstanz Wien, Steirischer Herbst und andere internationale Festivals) und ist Gastdozent am Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversität.
(c) Rania Moslam(c) Rania Moslam
 
 
Im Rahmen von FEEDBACK 4th edition
24. APRIL - 27. APRIL
____________________
 
TICKETS
Normalpreis 16 EURO
 
Ermäßigungen hier
 
____________________